[ A+ ] /[ A- ]

[.pdf version of the program available here]

Unless otherwise specified, all sessions take place in the Grand Ballroom East, on the 10th floor of the Seelbach Hilton Hotel.

Final Program
The Association for Documentary Editing
36th Annual Meeting
Louisville, Kentucky
July 24–26, 2014

Thursday, July 24

Registration Opens 

(Grand Ballroom Foyer, 10th Floor)


James McClure, ADE President
Darrell Meadows, Local Arrangements
John Lupton, Program Committee

The Next New Things

Chair: Beth Luey, Editorial Consultant

Sherry Darling, Special Projects Manager, The Mary Baker Eddy Library

Regna Darnell, Distinguished University Professor of Anthropology and First Nations Studies, University of Western Ontario

Sara Schwebel, Associate Professor of English, University of South Carolina

Thomas Slaughter, Arthur R. Miller Professor of History, University of Rochester


Membership Meeting

Reception, The Filson Historical Society

Round-trip bus transportation to and from The Filson Historical Society will be provided. Departure times are 5:45 p.m. and 6:00 p.m.; return trips are 7:45 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.

Friday, July 25

Reinterpretations in Documentary Editing

Chair: Barbara Oberg, Princeton University

Breaking with Convention to Explore the Eastern Edge of the Pimeria Alta
Dale S. Brenneman, O’odham-Pee Posh Documentary History Project, Arizona State University, University of Arizona

Things Aren’t Always What They Seem: Franklin, the Turkey, and National Identity
Ellen Cohn, Papers of Benjamin Franklin, Yale University


Editorial Fracking: New Insights from Overlooked Sources

Chair: Paul Israel, Thomas Edison Papers, Rutgers University

Paul Israel, Thomas Edison Papers, Rutgers University

Dan Feller, Papers of Andrew Jackson, University of Tennessee

Daniel W. Stowell, Papers of Abraham Lincoln, Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum

Lunch on your own

The ADE Forum (Posters)

Early Access Founders Online Project
Laura Baker, Susan Holbrook Perdue, and William Kurtz, Documents Compass

The Letters of Louisa Jacobs to Eugenie Webb, 1879 – 1911
Mary Maillard, Independent Scholar

The Letters of Albert Krehbiel: The European Education of an American Artist
John A. Lupton, Illinois Supreme Court Historic Preservation Commission


Technology and Documentary Editing

Chair: David S. Nolen, Mississippi State University

New Publishing Alchemy: Creating Page Layout from XML Files for a World War I Memoir
James T. Connolly, Massachusetts Historical Society

Making Do with What You’ve Got: Using CONTENTdm as a Platform for an Online Documentary Edition—The Ida Honore Grant Correspondence, 1889 – 1893
Robert Karachuck, Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library, Mississippi State University

Dictating Transcription
Emily Ross, Adams Family Papers, Massachusetts Historical Society


(cash bar; Mezzanine Ballroom)

ADE Banquet

(fee event; Mezzanine Ballroom)

Saturday, July 26

ADE Breakfast


Marketing  Editing Projects

Chair: Ann Gordon, Rutgers University


Ann Gordon, Rutgers University

Kathi Kern, University of Kentucky

Kate Culkin, Bronx Community College

Meeting Closes

Optional Tour to Thoroughbred Horse Farm and Bourbon Distillery
(fee event; includes box lunch)

Special Thanks
To The Filson Historical Society, Mark Wetherington, Executive Director, and Judy Miller,
Deputy Director, for organizing, hosting, and co-sponsoring the opening reception.

To the Kentucky Historical Society, Kent Whitworth, Executive Director, for co-sponsoring the opening reception, and for hosting and providing logistical support for the annual meeting.

To ProQuest, Barbara Olson, Senior Marketing Manager, and Rachel Hally, Academic Project Manager, for co-sponsoring the opening reception and providing refreshments throughout the meeting.
Program Committee: John Lupton (chair), Amanda Gailey, Paul Israel, Beth Luey, Daniel Stowell
Local Arrangements Committee: Darrell Meadows (chair), Jane E. Calvert, Tony Cutis, Tom Downey, John Fierst, Sara Georgini, Patrick A. Lewis, Bob Karachuk, and Whitney R. Smith