Boyd Award Committee

[ A+ ] /[ A- ]



The committee is responsible for selecting the recipient of the Julian P. Boyd Award, which is the highest honor given by the Association for Documentary Editing. Established in 1980 through the contribution of an anonymous donor, this award commemorates Boyd’s commitment to excellence and the breadth of his scholarly interests. First presented in 1981, the Boyd Award is now given every three years to a senior scholar in recognition of distinguished contributions to the study of American history and culture.


Current Charge

The Boyd award will be presented in 2016.


The Committee consults by mail, telephone and e-mail.


The 2013 award was presented to G. Thomas Tanselle.

Previous award recipients.