Boydston Award Committee

[ A+ ] /[ A- ]



The committee is responsible for selecting the recipient of the Boydston Essay Prize, established in 1995 by Jo Ann Boydston to honor the best essay or review published anywhere during the previous two years , the primary focus of which is the editing of a volume of works or documents.

Jo Ann Boydston was an internationally renowned expert on American philosopher John Dewey. She acted as the longtime director of SIUC’s Center for Dewey Studies, where she directed the publication of thirty-seven volumes containing all of Dewey’s major philosophical pieces. “The Collected Works of John Dewey,” produced at the rate of more than one volume each year, was the first such collection of writings by a classical American philosopher to apply the methodology of modern textual scholarship. It was also and one of the first projects to receive funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities. In addition to overseeing the publication of the definitive edition of Dewey’s papers, Boydston created a guide to Dewey’s work, a record of its translations, a list of the contents of his personal and professional libraries, and a collection of his poems. She served as president of the ADE in 1984-85.

Image provided by Media & Communication Resources, Southern Illinois University Carbondale.


The next award will be presented in 2018.


Tony Curtis, chair
Sherry Darling
David Nolan
Sara Georgini

Current Charge

The Boydston Prize committee will select a winner.


The Committee consults by mail, telephone and e-mail.

Previous award recipients